Reykjavik Region, Iceland

What we love about the Reykjavik Region

The Capital Region in Iceland is often also referred to as Greater Reykjavik and is situated in the Southwestern part of Iceland. It is divided into 7 municipalities namely Garðabær, Hafnafjörður, Kópavogur, Kjósarhreppur, Mosfellsbær, Seltjarnarnes, and Reykjavik itself. Altogether this region is the most densely populated area with more than 230'000 inhabitants, holding more than 60% of Iceland's population.

The Greater Capital Region is situated in Flaxaflói Bay in the Midwest of Iceland. It provides a very good sample of Iceland's diverse nature. Just as Iceland itself, the bay's characteristics are the result of glaciers, volcano eruptions, and earthquakes throughout the ages.

The Capital Region offers outdoor enthusiasts a vast array of activities. Whether you want to explore, you will find it here: the mountain borough in Mossfellsbær, discover the Heiðmörk Nature Reserve or cycle on Seltjarnarnes panoramic paths. If Reykjavik feels crowded you may also explore Reykjavik neighboring harbor village Hafnafjø.

Additionally, the Reykjanes region, located just southwest of Reykjavik hosts the famous blue lagoon and the bridge between continents.

When you fly to Iceland, chances are you will arrive at Iceland's international airport Keflavik which is also located in the Reykjanes region. Iceland´s domestic airport is closer to Reykjavik's city center.

Did you know that the bridge between continents in Reykjanes is only 15 meters long? It marks the rift between the North American and Eurasian tectonic plates. You can visit and walk on the ridge and pick up a personalized certificate from the Reykjanes information center.

Destinations in Reykjavik Region